June 23, 2022

All the PSL’s foreign coaches

Marumo Gallants claimed their new coach Romain Folz is Moroccan when they issued a statement announcing him in a press release last week.
But while he might have some family connection with the north African country, he is French born and a citizen and will become the sixth coach from that country to work in the Premier Soccer League.

He will also bring the total number of foreign coaches in PSL history to 122 out of a total of 260 – a percentage of 47%.

Foreign coaches have worked in South Africa for as long as professional soccer has existed but the countries of origin of the coaches have become much more varied over the decades.

Foreign coaches in PSL era have come from 39 different countries with the biggest contingent from England and the Netherlands.

While 13 English coaches might be no surprise, the large Dutch contingent is as a result of the Ajax Cape Town connections plus the reputation that the Dutch have for playing ‘total football’.

There have been 10 Serbian coaches and 10 also from Zimbabwe, who will have one of their compatriots among the list of coaches again for the coming season with Kaitano Tembo recently appointed coach of Sekhukhune United.

Zambia (8), the Democratic Republic of Congo and Malawi (5) are next on the list of African countries who have supplied coaches to South African clubs while Brazil (6) and Argentina with three are top of the South American list.

There have been five German coaches, with Ernst Middensorp the last since losing his job at Maritzburg United.

Foreign coaches in the PSL
(3): Miguel Angel Cappa, Luis-Oscar Fullone, Miguel Gamondi
Austria: Walter Rautmann
Belgium (3): Patrick Aussems, Luc Eymael, Tom Saintfiet
Botswana: David Bright
Brazil (6): Djalma Cavalcante, Walter da Silva, Julio Leal, Jayr Mazzoni, Eduardo Schoeler, Jose Valinhos
Bosnia (1): Sead Ramovic

Bulgaria (3): Kolio Markov, Hristo Stoichkov, Vasil Takov
Cameroon: Roger Feutmba
Chile: Mario Tuani
Cyprus: Ayi Ayiomamidis
DR Congo (5): Nkuene Mayala, Joseph Mukeba, Thierry Mulonzo, Kalambay Mutombo, Louis Watunda
Denmark: Roald Poulsen
England (13): Terry Ackhurst, Stuart Baxter, Jeff Butler, Peter Butler, Budgie Byrne, Mark Harrison, Dylan Kerr, John Lathan, Eddie Lewis, Frank Lord, Eddie May, Terry Paine, Dave Roberts
Ethiopia: Anteneh Eshete
France (5): Jean-Yves Kerjean, Denis Lavagne, Henri Michel, Sebastien Migne, Lionel Soccoia
Germany (5): Reinhard Fabisch, Ernst Middendorp, Hans-Dieter Schmidt, Josef Zinnbauer, Rainer Zobel
Ghana: David Duncan
Greece: Peter Koutroulis
Italy: Giovanni Solinas
Lesotho: Lehlohonolo Seema
Malawi (5): Robert Banda, John Maduka, Japhet Mphamba, Matthias Mwenda, Kinnah Phiri
Mauritius: Jean-Marc Ithier
Montenegro: Zoran Filipovic
Mozambique (2): Arnaldo Salvado, Themba Sithole
Netherlands (13): Henk Bodewes, Foppe de Haan, Ruud Krol, Rob McDonald, Stanley Menzo, Johan Neeskens, Mart Nooij, Jan Olde Reikerink, Jan Pruijn, Maarten Stekelenburg, Leo van Veen, Jan Versleijen, Clemens Westerhof
Nigeria (4): Shaibu Amidu, Austin Eguavoen, Okey Emordi, Sam Pam
Northern Ireland: Sammy Troughton
Peru: Augusto Palacios
Romania: Ted Dumitru
Russia: Viktor Bondarenko
Scotland (2): Jim Bone, Roy Matthews
Serbia (10): Miloslav Bjelica, Paul Dolezar, Vladislav Heric, Veselin Jelusic, Nikola Kavazovic, Zlatko Krmpotic, Kosta Papic, Zoran Pesic, Milutin Srejedovich, Vladimir Vermezovic
Slovakia: Jozef Vukusic

Spain: Antonio Lopez
Swaziland: Abel Shongwe
Sweden (2): Kjell Jonevret, Roger Palmgren
Turkey: Muhsin Ertugral
Zambia (8): Ben Bamfuchile, Ronald Mkhandawire, Freddie Mwila, Wedson Nyirenda, Stanley Phiri, Steve Phiri, Jacob Sakala, Jani Simulambo
Zimbabwe (10): Roy Barreto, Sunday Chidzambwa, Ian Gorowa, Bruce Grobbelaar, Norman Mapeza, Wilfred Mugeyi, William Mugeyi, Shepherd Murape, Peter Nyama, Kaitano Tembo

By Mark Gleeson.

To subscribe to MTN FC, click: Here

More Articles